F is for Wryday (52)

To talk about history and YouTube is liking saying a baby has ‘history’.

Apparently the phenomenon of YouTube has defied all normal time lines of development. Most great new ideas, even for technology, take around 10 years from idea to mass use. YouTube has halved that rule of thumb.

The first big hit I saw on YouTube was AlienSong:

A cultural phenomenon where artists produce works that refer to the past (even if it was just a few years ago!) has got ‘history’:

I guess what I’m trying to say is, they don’t make history like they used to!

(Note to self: Is that why they’re in such a hurry to declare PJPII a saint?)

5 Responses to F is for Wryday (52)

  1. old robe says:

    And a happy and chortle-filled Wryday to you!

    Don’t get me started on ‘history’! We don’t do history anymore; but, boy, can we make a hash of what we want it to be.

    JP2? In the great scheme of things, does it matter? As my medieval history lecturer used to wryly observe, when Rome raises Savonaola and Martin Luther to the Altar of Saints it might be worthy of our attention.

    nuff said ….. creeps back into his den.

  2. old robe says:

    Now, now. So I missed an ‘r’ in Savonarola. For more info might I recommend ‘Scourge and Fire, Savanarola and Rennaissance Italy’ by Lauro Martines, published by Jonathan Cape 2006. I’ll just crave your indulgence (if I may) and decline to comment further on Brother Martin!

    aside: Sav would make a good patron saint of bonfires, me thinks.

  3. old robe says:

    depends, I spose, on how strongly you feel about ‘burning books for God’!
    Is outrage.

Leave a comment